***RANT*** “If I Had Broken Legs I’d Strut Better Than You”

Greetings all! Happy friday 🙂 I woke up today with the grand intention of generating a new blog post to address some common misconceptions that folks have regarding this CAR-AZZZY industry. I’m still gonna do that, but I do feel the need to rant/snicker about an e-mail that I just received. Hang on to your hats…it’s brimming with ignorance.

Backstory: I have been exchanging e-mails with a “director” for a couple of weeks now regarding auditioning for a film. Ultimately, he provided a date for said audition that worked for me, so I agreed to attend and requested an address for the casting session. Instead, this “professional director” chose to inform me that I sucked. Well, what he actually said (and I quote) is this:

“I checked out your link and frankly, I would have preferred comments like: “you suck”, “if I had broken legs I’d strut better than you” etc. All the — “you’re the cat’s meow” international-model-world stuff” is a bit of a put-off for me. You’re more at home in your world than on a gritty film set, slugging away in the jungle or creeping through a muddy copper mine.”

This “link” he speaks of is automatically attached to every one of my e-mails and could have easily been checked out in the ten or so prior messages I had sent him, but hey, that’s 100% beside the point. The point is…

the point is…

wow…

where do you even start with this one?

The kicker: the last movie I co-wrote, directed and starred in took place in a dirty old mine. Yessir. It was dirty and old and there was moonshine, marshwiggles and tomfoolery involved, to say the least (and I am going to say the least, lest I give away the plot too much before I get a chance to post the completed edit!)

What can I say? Haters gonna hate.

I am currently filming a movie that involves being covered head to toe in corn syrup, chocolate sauce and red food colo — erm, I mean blood. Yeah, blood. But you know what? I don’t need to defend myself or prove things to anyone. As any and all of my friends will readily admit: I’m kind of an oxymoron. People generally garner that information within thirty (30) seconds of meeting me. I thought that’s what castings were for?

Oh and the icing on this rather proverbial cake: last week I did have a “broken leg”. Ripped it open while out on my dirtbug. And yes, I can say with absolute certainty: “I would strut better than you, Mr. Awesome Director, even with blood pouring out of my knee at an alarming rate and the most oil-flecked, paint-covered clothes known to man adorning my beautiful, oft-photographed back”. Guess that confirms that I am just a snobby, holier-than-thou model after all.

Winning.

About kindustry

I am a professional model.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ***RANT*** “If I Had Broken Legs I’d Strut Better Than You”

  1. Guess this all points to the fact that you gotta do YOUR stuff…and you can never please everybody…so ya gotta please yourself ! There will always be those that do not share your perspective and have not realized that RESPECT allows vision to manifest and insures diversity and the flowering of creativity.

  2. Paula says:

    Hey Kate! Have had the privilege of spending your birthday with you in Banf (have a feeling that might be two fs there) and just want to say, you are a super talented girl that is seriously, naturally intelligent, funny and great to hang with anytime. Have no idea where you are in the world, or if you are still “travelling” if you know what I mean (wink), but wish you all the best! Anyone who judges you by your cover has not read the book..5 minutes meeting with you in person is the best way to know you. You are warm and witty and anyone who doesn’t bother to let you audition is an absolute numbskull. Unless that casting director does give you a chance, then he is actually pretty wise that he did. There is a depth to your personality and you are so easy to be with and I just wanted you to know that! Good luck in your career, and I’ll send you some info about how my project is going soon.

    • kindustry says:

      BEST BIRTHDAY EVER!!!!
      Thanks so much 🙂 I think the same of you.
      Still traveling and loving it!! Hope we can spend another fun day together in an equally interesting and beautiful part of the world.

Leave a Reply

